GUEST REVIEWS

“Oh this place is divine!!! My second visit in as many months almost, and just love it - I would move in if I could! Staff are super helpful, and engaging, as well as being just wonderful hosts! Gabriel the manager, is an absolute angel! and James one of the owners, just felt like we were hanging around the fire with old friends. Views for days in all directions; feels like you are in a design magazine ; beds are wonderfully comfortable and toasty with the electric blankets on! Showers are blissful, especially after a quick morning dip ! Breakfast fabulous, the honey is homegrown; care and attention to detail here are second to none. I will visit as often as I can!” Catherine, UK, April 2019

“Best place we’ve stayed in. Everything is beautifully appointed, tastefully done and the staff (and owner, who happened to be around when we visited) were amazing. Couldn’t recommend this more highly.” Meng, USA, May 2019

“I will remember this place for the rest of my life. No words to explain how amazing is this place.” Fabrizio, Italy, April 2019

“The most luxurious, peaceful, comfortable place I've ever stayed with breathtaking views of the mountains and vineyards. We were treated like Queens, the breakfast was amazing, we had everything we would possibly need thanks to the help of house manager Gabriel.” Zoe, UK, March 2019

“I've managed to see some pretty great things in my life, but nothing close to how wholly perfect 7 Koppies is. Gabriel and his team were the gift of life that kept on giving - silent, meticulous, warm and when a good chat and chuckle were to be had you could rely on them to share the moment or give insight and feedback. The property was spotless but warm and homely. Like a very wealthy uncles holiday home but this time you could light the fire and sit on the couch without worrying about creasing the fabric. It is exceptionally private and secure. Most of the time we forgot we were only visiting and felt like we'd moved into our imaginary new home. Although our visit was short we still have lingering memories and thoughts. Thank you for all the effort you have put in architecturally and design wise, everything has truly been considered! Breakfast was a win too (they make croissant on the property and all the rest of the tidbits are locally and responsibly sourced).” Mawu, Canada, March 2019

“Everything! By far one of the best hotel/guesthouse I’ve stayed in! Everything was perfect, from the warm and friendly staff, to the decor, the location, the facilities and the house itself. I am definitely coming back! Unreal.” Jacob, UK, January 2019

“7 Koppies is a very special place. We were made to feel like we were staying with friends. Our room (the Garden Room) was perfect, it is on the ground floor with an external door that leads out to a beautiful kitchen garden, the scent of herbs and flowers drifted into our room. Gabriel and his team went above and beyond for us, they are warm and friendly. We decided not to hire a car and Gabriel met us at the airport and made sure we were hooked up to a reliable local taxi driver during our stay. Every morning a wonderful breakfast is prepared and is taken on a terrace that provides uninterrupted views of Simonberg mountain. Even though the interior of the house looks like it leaped out of the pages of a style magazine, the outdoor area steals the show with shaded sitting areas, a 25m pool and a great outdoor living room complete with log fire. We had a lovely evening with some of the other guests sharing travel stories and tips over a couple of bottles of wine around the fire. The sunrises and sunsets from the pool area are breathtaking. The location is great, very close to the town of Franschhoek and the vineyards of the area, but secluded enough to allow us to completely switch off. We loved our stay at 7 Koppies and didn't want to leave. I highly recommend this slice of heaven.” Cathy, Ireland, February 2019

“The property is perfectly positioned providing unmatched views across the valley. From the moment you arrive it becomes very clear to you that careful thought and planning went into executing the structural development, layout and also the interior decoration, and this has all come together to create a space that provides for a very comfortable and relaxing stay. The amenities include a 25 meter heated outdoor pool and two well appointed areas with comfortable seating that allow you to relax outside and enjoy the views. We stayed in the orchard room which has a balcony overlooking the orchard and which is beautifully decorated. We were also shown the poolside suite which has uninterrupted views across the valley and which has been designed to look like the inside of a cellar. When we return we definitely aim to stay here. The owners were staying at the property during our 2 night stay, and both they, and Gabriel were incredibly gracious hosts. The breakfasts were excellent and we were treated to both a lunch and dinner at the property on Christmas Day! The only negative was that we had to leave.” Charles, SA, December 2018

“We enjoyed 2 nights here for our third wedding anniversary & had an absolutely perfect time at this beautiful spot! The house manager, Gabriel, together with Atwell and the team looked after us exquisitely well and made us feel right at home from the first moment we set foot on the property until we reluctantly had to depart on Sunday morning. No request was too much effort and everything was done with big smiles! We stayed in The Valley Suite which is a beautiful stone building, separate from the main house and kind-of built into a hill with a garden on the roof - from certain sides you won't even know it was there. It has its own private deck, right next to the beautiful 25m lap pool, with amazing views of the valley and mountains. The room is very generous and spacious with a huge king sized bed, a perfect day bed/reading nook at the large bay window with the same amazing views, lounge area, ample closet space, fireplace (which was perfect for the chilly autumn days) and a writing desk and tv...which, if you are like us, you are probably not going to use. The entire inside of the room is made up of beautiful exposed red bricks...including the ceiling which is quite the feature! The bathroom is definitely a feature. From the interesting skylight above the large his and hers basins, the MASSIVE walk in double head shower - fitted with beautiful large copper shower heads. My wife really enjoyed the subdivided drawers in the large vanity to organise all her lotions, potions and makeup! Very nice towels, comfortable robes, etc. We were also spoiled with a beautiful breakfast in the main house every morning consisting of beautifully brewed cappuccinos, a selection of cheeses, cold meats, granola, fresh sliced fruit, home made yogurt, honey from their own beehives, freshly baked croissants, fruit juice etc. Not to mention the wonderfully prepared hot breakfast.” Werner, SA, May 2019

“Absolutely wonderful spot! Stunning, peaceful location with a dramatic view over the Franschhoek valley. The house is a celebration of the best of South African design and hospitality. Kelly is a wonderful hostess and her experience in creating the perfect stay was evident from the first time we spoke. Despite only being open one week when we visited, everything ran like a lodge that had been open for years - we had the most wonderful weekend and I cannot wait to go back! Absolutely loved that we could use the kitchen in the evening - not even the fine dining restaurants of Franschhoek could entice us away from the dramatic sunset on the terrace.” Aisling, SA, December 2018

“An amazing property! Our room was probably one of the nicest rooms I’ve ever stayed in and the outdoor area is even nicer than it looks in the photos. Amazing gardens, pool and architecture. The attention to detail is absolutely incredible and the designers should be really proud of what they’ve achieved.” Andrew, UK, March 2019

“7koppies is a gem. Beautiful place. Stunning views, garden and pool are excellent. a perfect base to be in Franschhoek. Good for the soul. Gabriel and the staff are lovely and they really make u feel at home. A perfect place.” James, Ireland, December 2018

“Too good to be true... what a gorgeous place and extremely friendly staff. Delicious breakfast, clean spacious rooms and the place is so beautifully decorated, I felt at home in an instant. Kelly is the best host ever 🧡 I will definitely come back!” Monica, The Netherlands, December 2018

“Breathtaking scenery, beautiful facilities as well as a friendly host and staff :-) It was an amazing holiday and I cant wait to go back again.” Vicky, SA, December 2018

“Our stay at 7 Koppies was exceptional. The host, Kelly, was accommodating in advance and took the time to explain what we needed to know when we arrived, without wasting time. The accommodation itself is exquisite, beautifully appointed with a world class view. We enjoyed everything about our time at 7 Koppies, except having to hand back the keys which was tough! We will definitely be back to enjoy more of this place.” Michael, USA, November 2018

More reviews can be found online.

Booking.com rating: 9.7

TripAdvisor rating: 5/5